Skip to main content

Use your default upload settings to set preferences for language, privacy, comments, category, titles and tags, and more.

Some settings are automatically applied to all the videos you upload to YouTube. These are called upload default settings and you can use them to set preferences for language, privacy, comments, category, titles and tags, and more.

Remember: Only videos uploaded through your web browser at youtube.com/upload are affected by your default upload settings. When you upload videos via Hangout On Air, video editor or mobile, they won’t retain your default settings.

Set your video default upload settings

  1. Sign in to YouTube.
  2. In the top right, click on your account icon > Creator Studio.
  3. In the menu to the left, choose Channel > Upload Defaults.
  4. Choose your default settings.
  5. Click Save.

Want to change your settings after you upload a video? Head to your Video Manager and choose a video to edit.